Charles Williams

Here’s an intelligent blog post about two of CW’s novels. Enjoy!

Meg Moseman

C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien, the former of whom is quite possibly my favorite author, were part of a Christian writing group at Oxford entitled the Inklings. I am not familiar with all of their work, but I first read Lord of the Rings and Narnia in elementary school, I fell in love with C.S. Lewis’s adult fiction and nonfiction in high school, and in college I discovered Charles Williams–the “oddest inkling,” as described in the title of this great blog about him that I found perhaps a week ago. Here, I’d like to make a few introductory observations about two of Williams’ novels.

First, though: Williams was remarkable, troubled, and troubling (in both the best and the worst ways). Not only do I admire and love his writing, but I believe his charisma has worked on me, across the decades and through the barrier of text, to the point…

View original post 947 more words

About Sørina Higgins

Sørina Higgins is a writer, English teacher, and Inklings scholar. Sørina serves as Chair of the Department of Language and Literature at Signum University and teaches English at King's College and Lehigh Carbon Community College. She has published two books of poetry, "The Significance of Swans" and "Caduceus."
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Charles Williams

  1. megmoseman says:

    Hey, thank you for reblogging :)! I appreciate this!

    Like

  2. Meg, that’s interesting that you mention his charisma working across the decades, because I’ve felt that, as well. It’s certainly something that, for me, gives a lot of weight to his thoughts on the co-inherence, even if I sometimes question my soundness of mind!

    Thanks for sharing this post, and good luck in your writing endeavors! I’m on a similar journey.

    Liked by 1 person

    • megmoseman says:

      Thank you very much! What do you write, if you don’t mind my asking :)? (I write fantasy mostly…)

      Like

      • I’m currently drafting a novel. I guess you could call it speculative fiction with a dash of magical realism? And romance. And some Greek mythology influence… It’s a bunch of things not easily put in a box, so at this point, I’m just hoping I can wrangle it all together into a workable whole, hah!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. David Llewellyn Dodds says:

    Thanks for bringing this to our attention – excitingly lots to think about, in it – and, now, its sequel, too (and more to come)! Hurrah!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. megmoseman says:

    Both new CW posts are now up. Thanks again to everyone who stopped by.

    Like

Comment in the Co-Inherence

