Looking for Book Reviewers

Dear Readers:

As Reviews Editor of Sehnsucht: The C.S. Lewis Journal, I am looking for reviewers of the following books. I would like reviewers who have academic writing experience and who have no conflict of interest with the book of choice. Please leave me a comment if you are interested. Thank you.

1. “C.S. Lewis and His Circle” edited by Roger White, Judith Wolfe, and Brendan Wolfe
2. “The Letters of Ruth Pitter” edited by Don King
3. ” Bringing Narnia Home: Lessons for the Other Side of the Wardrobe” by Devin Brown
4. “C.S. Lewis’s List: The Ten Books That Influenced Him Most” by David Werther
5. “Gaining a Face: The Romanticism of C.S. Lewis” by Jim Prothero and Donald Williams
6. “T. S. Eliot and Christian Tradition” edited by Benjamin Lockerd
7. “The Oxford Inklings: Their Lives, Writings, Ideas, and Influence” by Colin Duriez
8. “The A-Z of C.S. Lewis” by Colin Duriez
9. “A Hobbit, a Wardrobe, and a World War” by Joseph Loconte

About Sørina Higgins

Sørina Higgins is a writer, English teacher, and Inklings scholar. Sørina serves as Chair of the Department of Language and Literature at Signum University and teaches English at King's College and Lehigh Carbon Community College. She has published two books of poetry, "The Significance of Swans" and "Caduceus."
This entry was posted in News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Looking for Book Reviewers

  1. johnrob1270 says:

    It’s been awhile since I’ve done academic writing, but my posts will vouch, I think, for the fact that I have. I’d live to take a crackat the Letters of Ruth Pitter, or T.S.Eliot and the Christian Traditiion.
    Under the Mercy

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Sørena,

    I could likely do 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, or 9.

    Yours,
    David

    Liked by 1 person

  3. josephinumpjhl says:

    I’m interested in reviewing any of the titles. It has been a few years since I’ve written anything in the literary field and it would be a good diversion from my strictly theological studies.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. David O'Hara says:

    I’d be happy to do the Duriez book. I’m a philosophy and classics professor and the author of an academic book on Lewis’ environmental vision.

    Like

  5. T. Martin says:

    I am interested in The Letters of Ruth Pitter, having done some work in this area, as well as 1, 4, 5 if needed for those. I can send my further qualifications (PhD in English with focus on the Inklings) via email. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Doug Jackson says:

    I’d be happy to do any of them, but particularly White et. al., Brown or Duriez.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. David Llewellyn Dodds says:

    5: interested in Lewis (and all the other Inklings) and Romanticism (and have read a fair bit of MacDonald and about his German Romantic background);
    9: interested in Great War literature, and how some of the foundational general scholarship of Great War literature has tended to neglect the Inklings and the mythpoeic;
    1: judging by the Amazon blurb, I was involved in inviting some of the authors included to read the papers now published, in the 1980s, but was not consulted about this volume, which seems more like expertise than conflict of interest, to me!;
    2: I’ve enjoyed what Ruth Pitter I’ve read (and hearing about her from people who knew her), but haven’t read as much as I’d like, and letters are always enjoyable!

    Like

    • Oo, wow; sorry, David, but those are all taken! People have been swift in replying (by email and facebook as well as here).

      Like

      • David Llewellyn Dodds says:

        Ah, well! – I’ll hope to catch up with them all, someday, when the unusual factors of being near a good library and also having enough spare time to read books from it, come into conjunction like Jupiter and Venus have been doing recently!

        Like

  8. MattJ says:

    I’d love to review Duriez’s “The Oxford Inklings.” I’m a philosophy professor and have led two study abroad trips to Oxford in conjunction with Inklings-themed courses at my university. I’ve also written half a dozen book reviews for academic journals. My email address is

    Like

  9. MattJ says:

    …apparently blocked by the comments settings? 🙂

    Like

  10. David O'Hara says:

    If someone else wants the Duriez book, I’m happy to let them have it, especially if they’re junior faculty in need of more publications. I’ve got plenty to keep me busy, but I’m happy to be kept in mind if you find yourself in need of someone to review a book or write an article in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. MattJ says:

    I’m in the same boat as David O’Hara, for the record (though with another Inklings course tentatively planned for summer 2016, the timing is very good for me). Here’s my email address spelled out: mjordan5 [at] aum [dot] edu

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Happy to do any, except 2, 6, 8.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Tom Hillman says:

    Sørina, I am currently reviewing Loconte elsewhere, but would have no problem sharing the review with Sehnsucht as well. The Werther book looks quite interesting, too. I would be glad to help in any way I can.

    Like

  14. Donna Beales says:

    I was a reviewer for Booklist, and would be interested.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. meldenius says:

    I’ve done several book reviews for an academic audience in The Quarterly Journal of Speech, Homiletics and others. Happy to do any of these. I teach an annual course on CSL for a study abroad in the UK and have written and presented papers on Lewis and Tolkien. I am a PhD in Rhetoric, teach in the Humanities and am Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences at a faith-based school (Lee University in TN).

    Like

  16. Ken Wiens says:

    I have a bachelors in English Literature and the Mdiv. and ThM. in Theology. I am also a writer and would love to write a book review on any of the books you denoted above.

    Like

  17. Wayne Clarke says:

    I’m interested in writing reviews for you. My first degree was in English and Philosophy, followed by a degree in Theology from Oxford University. I love all things Lewis, especially the theological and philosophical writings. I’m happy to review works like #4 that give the wider view.

    Like

  18. The Rev. Nancy E. Topolewski, Ph.D. says:

    Sorina:

    Quite by accident, I have just discovered your blog. Until now, I rarely have had recourse to anything other than weather reports on the web; I looked up “Charles Williams” on Google as a way of killing some time. What a pleasant surprise to find you! I wrote my Ph.D. dissertation, “Under the Mercy: The Doctrine of the Atonement in the Novels and Theological Works of Charles Williams (1886-1945)” (Drew University, with distinction,1993) long enough ago to be able to boast minimal recourse to Internet sources. I am very much interested in Inklings-related books and try to keep up on publications as best I can, usually finding them by accident while looking for other books on Amazon’s or Barnes and Noble’s web sites.

    Obviously I got to your invitation to potential reviewers far too late even to be considered in this round, but I hope you will keep me on a list somewhere for future reference.

    I have now read and printed out many of your postings about Charles Williams. As one who has long championed Williams’s works in academic and ecclesiastical settings, I find your analyses in general to be clear and focused. Of specific interest to me are: materials related to Williams’s theology, particularly his three-tiered formulation of the classical Doctrine of the Atonement (i.e., Co-inherence, Exchange, and Substitution); his singular approaches to the genres of history, biography, and fiction; and his incredibly rich understanding of Christian faith.

    When my principal dissertation advisor at Drew University, Dr. James H. Pain, retired from full-time teaching at the end of the spring semester of 2011, I wrote and presented a paper at the Convocation in his honor, on 4 May 2011: “Under the Mercy: Pastoral Dimensions of the Doctrine of Co-Inherence as Set Forth in the Theology of Charles Williams (1886-1945).” The paper outlines my intellectual and spiritual journey with Charles Williams and recounts two specific personal experiences of the Doctrine of Substituted Love. I believe that just as one cannot approach the teachings of Jesus without seeking their praxis, so one cannot approach the ideas of Charles Williams without discerning their practical, lived-out dimensions. If you might like to read this paper, I would be happy to send it to you.

    Thank you for taking on Charles Williams as a scholarly focus. The fruits of his polymath labors are breath-taking to behold. While his forays into the realm of theology–a convoluted Graal Quest all their own–might seem quaint or quirky to contemporary readers, there is rich reward to those who endure unto the end. Always Under the Mercy.

    Like

    • Dear Nancy:
      Thank you very much for this comment. I am delighted you found me! I’d love to know a little more about your work with CW; would you be interested in writing a guest blog post? <1000 words, conversational style.

      Like

Comment in the Co-Inherence

