News and Followers

Dear Reader of The Oddest Inkling:

largeDid you miss me?

Thank you for your patience while this blog has been on hiatus. I hope to have it up and running on a normal schedule in the next couple of weeks. Meanwhile, here are three pieces of news.

1) We have added a “follow me” widget to this blog! It’s over on the topic right-hand side. Do you see it? Click into it, then type your email address into the box, and you will receive an email every time a new post is published on The Oddest Inkling. Please spread the word: tell your Inklings friends, post on social media, etc.

2) On August 24, 2012, a dramatic little book celebrated its 100th birthday: The Chapel of the Thorn, a two-act verse play by Charles Williams. In this tightly-woven dramatic poem, priests contend for control of a sacred relic, but an inherent syncretism and ambiguity leave the conflict open-ended. Its themes of spiritual tension, sacred vs. secular power, and “just war” could be read as a tale for 2012—or 2013, or beyond—as much as for 1912. Yet this poignant, lyrical play has never been published. The MS rests in the Marion E. Wade Center, tenderly cared for yet rarely read. When I signed out the original notebook in Williams’ elegant handwriting, I was the first to handle these cream-colored, pre-war pages (besides the archivists) since Raymond Hunt deposited them there in 1973. A few other scholars have read it, but the text had never before been transcribed.

Now I (the author of this blog, Sørina Higgins) am currently editing The Chapel of the Thorn for publication by Apocryphile Press, possibly later this year. In order to ensure accuracy of the final product, it is necessary for me to hire a research assistant at the Marion E. Wade Center to double-check the typescript against the manuscript. You have a chance to become part of this project! If you would like to help fund the very small costs of this project, please consider making a paypal donation:

Donate Button

3) You may remember the Call For Papers I sent out requesting proposals for a volume on The Inklings and King Arthur. That project is proceeding very well. I have received many fine abstracts. Over the next few weeks, my peer-reviewers and I will go through these proposals to choose the very best. Then we will proceed to querying publishers. I will post updates as that project unfolds.

Meanwhile, your continued prayers for my health are much appreciated, as debilitating migraines make it necessary for me to limit my screen time each day, so it is difficult to keep up with all these online and on-screen writing and editing projects.

Under the Mercy,
Sørina Higgins

About Sørina Higgins

Sørina Higgins is a writer, English teacher, and Inklings scholar. Sørina serves as Chair of the Department of Language and Literature at Signum University and teaches English at King's College and Lehigh Carbon Community College. She has published two books of poetry, "The Significance of Swans" and "Caduceus."
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to News and Followers

  1. Just a note to say that you will be in my prayers. My younger daughter (16) suffers from debilitating migraines & has missed a lot of school this year so I live close up to this & long for her to be free of this condition. I pray that for you too.

    On Moriarty & the “Did you miss me?” I can’t help but think that unless the writers have decided to rewrite Sherlock Holmes entirely that someone else is using this video clip to spread alarm & despondency. I have the complete Holmes on my bookshelves so must re-read for clues!

    Like

    • Sørina Higgins says:

      Thank you for your prayers! I hope your younger daughter’s health improves, too. Email me if you want ideas for managing/preventing the migraines; I am on a strict regimin that is working well so far.

      So, you’re not a watcher of the BBC “Sherlock” series?

      Like

  2. Pingback: Chapel of the Thorn selection | The Oddest Inkling

  3. Pingback: Request for Information on Early Plays | The Oddest Inkling

Comment in the Co-Inherence

